8 Books Like More to the Story by Hena Khan

So you read this sister story by Hena Khan, now you’re on the hunt for books like More to the Story? Welcome!

Recommending readalikes can be a tricky process, but as I said in the first post in this series, I enjoy the process of finding similar threads running through even books that appear different on the surface. Today’s pick is Hena Khan’s most recent middle-grade book More to the Story, a retelling of the beloved Little Women. I’ve never read Little Women, but I adored this book, which was one of my best books in 2019. Sisters Jameela, Bisma, Maryam and Aleeza are distraught when their father has to move abroad for work — and then one of the sisters falls ill. This is a truly heartwarming, feel-good book featuring a Pakistani-American Muslim family.

more to the story by hena khan

Here’s my readalike criterion: Each book I recommend must have at least three strong similarities with the beloved title. For each recommended book, I’ll also highlight major differences to keep in mind, just in case they might put you off. If you or your kids loved this book, here are more books like More to the Story.

Ready? Let’s go.

Books Like More to the Story

The Sister’s Club

the sisters club - books like more to the story

Similarities:

  • Follows three sisters and their relationship
  • Jam is a writer and editor and Joey writes journal entries and a column too!
  • This is quite a feel-good story as well

Differences:

  • All three girls are white
  • Religion doesn’t play much a role


What Happens Next

what happens next - books like more to the story

Similarities:

  • Follows one of three sisters
  • One sister is ill (has an eating disorder) and that impacts the family
  • Religion plays a role in the story (the McCourts are Catholics)

Differences:

  • More mystery elements than More to the Story
  • The sisters aren’t as close in age and are more major subplots than the main plot

The Forget Me Not Summer

the forget-me-not summer - books like more to the story

Similarities:

  • Follows three sisters spending the summer in Cape Cod
  • An abundance of drama and sweet moments
  • Both parents working in different cities for the summer
  • Feel-good book

Differences:

  • All the sisters are white
  • Set in summer, not during the school year
  • Part of a series

The Vanderbeekers of 141st Street

the vanderbeekers of 141st street

Similarities:

  • Five kids (four sisters) living in a Harlem brownstone
  • Ethnically diverse family (biracial)
  • Very warm family dynamics with lots of drama and interaction
  • Feel-good series

Differences:

  • There’s a brother; not all girls
  • Part of a series


Twins

twins by varian johnson - books like more to the story

Similarities:

  • Twin sisters Maureen and Francine try to find their own identities
  • Very engaging and feel-good
  • Warm family dynamics
  • Plenty of school activities like Cadet training and running for grade president

Differences:

  • Just two sisters

Amina’s Voice

amina's voice - books like more to the story

Similarities:

  • Pakistani-American heroine and family
  • Friendship drama
  • Being Muslim is a big part of the story
  • Warm family dynamics and Pakistani culture

Differences:

  • Not a sister story (but really similar in tone and by the same author)

The Penderwicks

the penderwicks - books like more to the story

Similarities:

  • Follows four sisters
  • Single parent — the girls stay with their dad in a cottage
  • Warm family dynamics
  • A boy — just like Ali with the girls in More to the Story

Differences:

  • White family

One Crazy Summer

one crazy summer - books like more to the story

Similarities:

  • Three sisters shipped off to their mother for the summer
  • A fair amount of sister bickering
  • Deals with race and prejudice issues too

Differences:

  • Not quite as warm or “feel-good” as More to the Story
  • Historical fiction

Your turn! Which books like More to the Story would you recommend and why? I’d love to hear from you. Also, I would love your help with this series. Which middle-grade, chapter books, or picture books, or even YA books would you love readalikes for? Let me know!

Pin This Post – Books Like More to the Story

books like more to the story

One thought on “8 Books Like More to the Story by Hena Khan

What do you think? Leave a comment